Former Champ McGlynn Breaks Into Winners Column

August 24, 2015

(Delaware Speedway, ON) – The Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series held event number six of the seven-race championship season Friday August 14th at Delaware Speedway. ‘Mr. Highside’ Brennan Didero (#24) of Ancaster, entered the night with a slim five-point lead on Josh Wood (#66) of London, in the championship chase. For Wood, he was coming off a Peterborough Speedway win, and returning to his home track where he has been a victor before.

The night started with qualifying, and Didero was able to rip off the fastest lap of the session, setting a new track record along the way with a time of 19.798 seconds. This was a bit quicker than former track record holder Chad McGlynn who qualified the car for his brother Shawn McGlynn (#81) of Kitchener, and stopped the clocks at 19.925 seconds, while Mike Hrynuik (#15) of Windsor, qualified third with a lap of 19.926 seconds. Chad McGlynn (#18) of Kitchener, (in his own car) and Wood rounded out the top-five.

When the top qualifiers were shuffled, it put Ken McNichol Jr. (#17) of Exeter, on the pole with Chad McGlynn on the outside of the front row. Row two would be made up of Wood, and Hrynuik, while Didero, and Alvin ‘The Bandit’ McNichol (#77) of Exeter, made up the third row.

Chad McGlynn took the early lead, but it would only last four laps, as Hrynuik was on the charge. He moved to second, and then on lap five made his move to the head of the pack. For the veteran racer, it was a return to the track, after a seven year absence, but the former series winner served notice that he would be a threat to win going forward. Hrynuik would continue to pace the field until he was challenged at the halfway point.

Didero was the first to put the heat on Hrynuik, and after working the leader over for a number of laps, Brennan took command.

Series championship leader Shawn McGlynn was also the one on the move. After starting in 13th because of the driver change, McGlynn had moved his way to second, and was on the hunt. On lap 60, McGlynn made his move, and took the lead away from Didero.

McGlynn was able to hold on until lap 77 when the skies opened, and rain started to fall. The race was eventually called official, and the two-time defending champion McGlynn had returned to victory lane for the first time in 2015.

With the second-place result, Didero expanded his championship lead on Wood, and spoke about the night, “It would’ve been nice if the rain had come a few laps earlier when we were leading, but we’ll still take the finish. We had a pretty good car, and were able to lead a few laps. We also had to worry about the big picture, and we stayed ahead of Josh. We have a seven-point lead heading into Full Throttle Motor Speedway, and have to finish at least three spots in front of Josh to take the title. We were able to run well there earlier this year, and I think we’ll be fast again next time, but Josh led almost all the laps there, so we know he will be tough.”

Wood was pleased with his third-place result in front of his home track fans, “It’s always great to race at home, and we had a pretty good night. Third is a good finish, and we only lost a few points to Didero. We’ll just go to Full Throttle Motor Speedway for the final race of the year and do the best we can to try and get our third win of the season.”
The Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series will wrap up Saturday, September 12th, making the second appearance of the season at Full Throttle Motor Speedway for the Fuel for Kids 100. The first event at FTMS was a thriller, with Didero taking the lead late from Wood to claim his third consecutive feature win. Didero will take a seven-point lead into the finale, looking to lock up his first career Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup championship.

Final Results – 1. Shawn McGlynn, 2. Didero, 3. Wood, 4. Hrynuik, 5. Alvin McNichol.
Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup – Championship Points Standings (after 5 of 7 events) – 1. Didero (588 points), 2. Wood (581), 3. Shawn McGlynn (561), 4. Graham (547), 5. Chad McGlynn (538).

McColl Racing Ent. voucher winner – #85 Mike Nelson
Grisdale-American Racer Tire award winner – #18 Chad McGlynn
London Drive Systems voucher winner – #77 Alvin McNicol
Trailers By Jim Bray voucher winner – #8 Adam Martin
Performance Fiberglass voucher winners – #12 Mark Patrick & #66 Josh Wood
For more information on the Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series, Lucas Oil, Delaware Speedway, Full Throttle Motor Speedway, or Race Time Radio, please visit,,, or, or contact Series Director Dave Alexander at
Release by Jamie Maudsley and photo by Delaware Speedway.

Delaware Speedway – Aug. 14, 2015
Race 6 of 7
1 81 Shawn McGlynn
2 24 Brennan Didero
3 66 Josh Wood
4 15 Mike Hrynuik
5 77 Alvin McNicol
6 17 Kenny McNicol Jr.
7 14 Brandt Graham
8 43 Bob Merrifield
9 3 Tim Tolton
10 45 Kevin Trevellin
11 8 Adam Martin
12 12 Mark Patrick
13 18 Chad McGlynn
14 85 Mike Nelson

Standings after 6 races
1 24 Brennan Didero 588
2 66 Josh Wood 581
3 81 Shawn McGlynn 561
4 14 Brandt Graham 547
5 18 Chad McGlynn 538
6 3 Tim Tolton 538
7 77 Alvin McNicol 537
8 85 Mike Nelson 514
9 82 Dave Connelly 450
10 45 Kevin Trevellin 439
11 43 Bob Merrifield 437
12 8 Adam Martin 436
13 6 Jeremy Coulter 341
14 48 Doug Cathcart 261
15 12 Mark Patrick 169
16 89 Shawn Chenoweth 98
17 25 Paul Geniole 96
18 15 Mike Hrynuik 94
19 17 Kenny McNicol Jr. 91
20 93 Jason Meyer 82