McGlynn Wins Flamboro; In Title Contention

July 20, 2014

(Milgrove, ON) – The 2014 Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series Presented by Meineke returned to action on Sunday July 20th at the Hamilton-area Flamboro Speedway for round four of the season championship after the Saturday night card was rained out the night before. Kevin Allen (#54) of Drumbo, entered as the point leader, and was looking for his first win after three straight podium finishes to start the season.

Qualifying was the first order of the day and when the dust settled, it was three-time series champion Shawn McGlynn (#81) of Kitchener, who had turned the fastest lap of the day with a time of 16.538 seconds. Jake ‘The Juicebox’ Ott (#60) of Ayr, chimed in second, with Josh Wood (#66) of London, third. Allen and ‘Mr. High Side’ Brendan Didero (#24) of Brantford, rounded out the ‘Lucas Oil Fast Five’. The top-nine cars were separated by a mere .518 seconds.

The ‘Fast Five’ drew for their starting spots, which planted Wood and Didero on the front row, and the pair raced doorhandle-to-doorhandle for the first lap with Wood getting the nod at the stripe, but Didero was on the charge, moving to the front on lap two and setting sail. McGlynn, who started fourth was on the charge, and moved to second early in the event before he started to put the heat on the leader.

The race remained green, and after many laps of pressuring Didero, McGlynn made his move on lap 50. The races first of four yellows would finally fly on lap 68. A couple of restarts later it was Allen who was on the charge. He took a look to the bottom of Didero when Ott, who was running fourth, spun him from behind. It ended up damaging a number of cars in the incident.

Up front it was still all McGlynn who held off Ott on a couple of late restarts to claim his first feature win of the season with Ott finishing second, and Didero coming home in third. Dave ‘Hot Rod’ Connelly (#82) of Arnprior finished fourth, with Mike ‘Over the Top’ Nelson (#85) of Peterborough posting his second career top-five finish, winding up fifth.

McGlynn spoke about his trip to victory lane, “We tested here a few times, and this thing was a rocket tonight. I was faster than the #24 [Didero], but there was no rush. I just took my time and he finally made a mistake and we were able to capitalize on it. This should really help us in the points, and with four more races left here, I think we still have a shot at the title.”

Ott talked about his runner-up finish, “We just had a second-place car today. I thought we might have something for him on the late restart, but I ended up having to work to keep Didero behind us.”

Didero talked about his podium finish, “After all the troubles we’ve had this year, I’m just glad we finished. Our car was really good early on, but it started to go away on us during the second half of the race. I’ve raced here a lot, and it’s a great track. We had a lot of fun racing with Shawn today, but I just didn’t have anything for him.”

Point leader Allen would fight back from the contact to finish seventh and keep the point lead by five markers over Connelly, with Ott third. McGlynn and Doug Cathcart (#48) of Ottawa, are tied for fourth.

Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup presented by Meineke – Championship Points Standings (after 4 of 8 events) – 1. Allen (382 points), 2. Connelly (377), 3. Ott (376), 4. (tied) S. McGlynn, Cathcart (367).

The Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup presented by Mieneke will be back in action August ninth at Peterborough Speedway.

Release and Photos by Jamie and Jordan Maudsley and

      Flamboro Speedway – July 20, 2014
Fin St #  Name Standings
1  4 81 Shawn McGlynn 1 Kevin Allen 382
2  3 60 Jake Ott 2 Dave Connelly 377
3  2 24 Brennan Didero 3 Jake Ott 376
4  7 82 Dave Connelly 4 Doug Cathcart 367
5 13 85 Mike Nelson 5 Shawn McGlynn 367
6  3 66 Josh Wood 6 Brennan Didero 362
7  4 54 Kevin Allen 7 Mike Nelson 360
8  9 48 Doug Cathcart 8 Chad McGlynn 357
9  6 18 Chad McGlynn 9 Josh Wood 354
10  9 31 John Schwemler 10 Tim Tolton 353
11 14  8 Adam Martin 11 Adam Martin 353
12 12 70 Joe Trafford 12 Jeremy Coulter 344
13  8  3 Tim Tolton 13 John Schwemler 257
14 11  6 Jeremy Coulter 14 Charbonneau/Trafford 251
15 NS 43 Bob Merrifield 15 Jason Meyer 180
16 NS 93 Jason Meyer 16 Bob Merrifield 168
17 Todd Musker 94